PDA

View Full Version : 45ACP 230gr LRN Load Data

Joe216
01-18-2012, 08:33 PM
I’m new to reloading and have a few questions regarding casted bullet quality and load data. I’ve been casting for about 2 weeks now and have about 1000 bullets and just received my Dillon press. Before I start calibrating the dies, I need some advice. Below is what I’m working with:

Press = Dillon RL550B

Bullet Type = LRN (personally casted from clip-on wheel weights only)
Bullet Diameter = .452 (sized/lubed with Lee sizer)
Bullet Weight = 232 – 236 grains (casted from 6 cavity Lee Mold)
Bullet Hardness = 8BHN (I’m assuming the bullets will harden to the 11-12 range after a few weeks)
Bullet seated in case OAL = 1.250 (I tested and chambers nicely)

Case = Speer brass w/small primer pocket

Primer = CCI 500 (small pistol primer)

Powder = Bullseye

I haven’t been able to find load data with the ingredients I have, I’m looking for some advice. Will the small primer Speer case be a problem? All load data I’ve found has been for large primer. I have 1000 Speer cases and hope I don’t have to replace with Large.

How critical should I be with bullet specs/imperfections with concern to safety? I just want to make sure it’s safe to load what I’ve casted. I understand accuracy will suffer with poorly made bullets.

Based on my research I plan on starting with 3.6gr Bullseye with bullet seated at 1.250 and then working the load up to 4.8gr and choosing the best load based on accuracy and NO I don’t have a Chrono just yet. Does this sound safe? And NO I won’t hold anyone liable for recommendations, I’m solely responsible for the decisions I make.

Thanks everyone,
Joe

35remington
01-18-2012, 09:53 PM
You haven't specified which Lee RN. They make two; the 228-1R and the 230-2R. The second is the closer match to ball profile. Specifying which variant will help the answers I can give you. I have and have loaded both variants.