PDA

View Full Version : Case Fillers for rifle cases

DonMountain
01-16-2012, 10:57 PM
I am new to casting and loading rifle boolits for my military surplus cartridge rifles. Most of which are medium size cases like the 6.5 x 55 Swedish, 7mm Mauser, 8mm Mauser, 7.63 x 53 Argentine, 303 British, 7.7 Jap, 7.5 x 55 Swiss, and 30-40 Krag. What are the advantages of using some sort of case filler with lead boolits and reduced powder charges, and what sort of case fillers are there and what do they consist of? Where might I get the materials to make them?

Certaindeaf
01-16-2012, 11:15 PM
Just use a position insensitive powder such as Red Dot etc. and fillers are not necessary.

MajorJim
01-16-2012, 11:21 PM
I know a lot of double rifle shooters that use Dacron. A Kapok wad/wafer is another thing they use. And some actually use cream of wheat.

Some of the issues with large cases where the powder charge leaves a lot of empty space are ignition issues and "chamber ringing". The filler packs the powder closer to the primer and allows for consistent ignition. These are big issues for a double rifle using calibers where the case was made large to keep chamber pressures down. That and the fact the doubles are darn expensive to fix.

303Guy
01-16-2012, 11:27 PM
Personally I would recommend using a powder that would be safe with a full case load then use that at a somewhat reduced volume that will allow the use of some compressible filler to protect the boolit base and assist in proper combustion. Some use Cream Of Wheat with a powder charge just below the shoulder body junction and compressed from halfway up the neck or something. Gearnasher is the man to aske about that one. I've used wheat bran in the 303 Brit over H4350/AR2209 and a 205gr boolit with a 69% load density to good effect. That might be pushing it a bit but pressures seemed mild and consistent and accuracy was as good as could be expected for the condition of the bore.