PDA

View Full Version : Which .45 boolit?

mike3132
03-06-2007, 01:01 PM
Newbie here with a few questions for you experts. Ive got a Ruger Super Redhawk .454 and want to shoot cast boolits for hunting but I don't want to shoot them at .454 velocity. I'm using 45LC cases and want to shoot at velocities between 1200 - 1400 fps. My question is which boolit weight and design to buy. I'm not planning on casting my own so who makes a good boolit for hunting. Should I buy ones with gas checks? Anyone have a good accurate 45LC load they would care to share? Thanks, mike

454PB
03-06-2007, 11:19 PM
Welcome to the forum.

I have the same gun. I suggest you avoid using .45 Colt brass in it, instead, use reduced loads in .454 brass. Over time, the use of the shorter .45 Colt brass can erode the area just behind the cylinder throats. I can't suggest a commercial cast boolit. I've never used them, I cast my own. Bullshop comes highly recommended, and is a member of this forum. A link to his web site is at the bottom of this page.

I like 320gr. to 335 gr. gas checked boolits in my .454's ahead of H-110, WW 296, Lil'Gun, or Bluedot . Since you want reduced loads, Bluedot and Lil'Gun would work best, H-110 and WW 296 cannot be reduced more than 5% from maximum due to ignition problems and squib loads. I use Bluedot for velocities in the 1300 fps. range.

beagle
03-07-2007, 12:40 AM
I'm assuming you're looking for a big bruiser of a bullet.

One of my old shooting partners had a .454 and I've made loads of bullets for him using the RCBS 45-325-FN-U. THis is for the .45 rifles but I've sized them down to .453" for him and they shoot well in both his gun and my Ruger .45 Colt.

It's a round, flat nose, PB. Might be what you're looking for./beagle

mike3132
03-07-2007, 01:12 AM