PDA

View Full Version : To quench or not to quench?

aprayinbear
01-10-2012, 05:12 PM
Here's a question for all you experienced casters.:drinks:

I have been reloading for most of my guns for several years now, but I have just started casting my own bullets. I've started with the Lee 358-148-WC mold for my Dan Wesson .357. I'm using 3.5 grains of bullseye in .357 cases. In the past I have purchased these same bullets "hardcast" from an internet company. They work well with this load in my gun.

I am using wheel weights for alloy with nothing added. The Lee mold worked like a charm. I'm tumble lubing with Alox, sized to .358.

My question is, with my relatively light load, do I need to water quench my bullets or am I better off not quenching. I haven't had any problem with leading when I've used the hardcast (brinnell hardness of 17) bullets that I've purchased in the past. Since I don't have any way to test my quenched wheel weight bullets I have no idea of their hardness. My understanding (and I know very little so far) is that with the low velocity handgun bullets, the softer bullet might be preferable.

Is that correct? All thoughts, suggestions and ideas would be much appreciated!
:castmine: Happy Shooting!

felix
01-10-2012, 05:31 PM
Correct. If leading appears, go to a slower powder. ... felix

Cmemiss
01-10-2012, 05:36 PM
I'm not an expert, nor do I play one on television, but if your low vel load is working without leading then why change anything. Stated another way, if it works leave it alone and don't make extra work for yourself. Just my opinion.. Not sure how much you have read here and other places, but clip on WW are relatively hard, where stick on are almost pure lead. See the info on the LA sill. club site on the various hardnesses.

mdi
01-10-2012, 05:42 PM