PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun Slugs

Adler1
01-07-2012, 09:47 PM
I am a newbie to casting bullets and reloading. I would appreciate some input regarding shotgun slugs. First of all lets talk about the slug itself, I have seen the Lee casting molds with the 7/8 and 1 ounce slugs, as well as Lyman's sabot slugs. Is this all there is available? My intent for casting and reloading is to save money, but it also needs to be functional. I don't want to put a lot of effort into this and find out that all they will be good for is plinking, I want to be able to hunt with these and I want the best bullet for the job. Can anyone help speak into this? I would like to know about the expansion quality of the bullets, as well as personal experience. Would the Lee's perform just as well as the Lyman sabots?

Second, I have seen Lee's Load-all II and they recommend loading slugs with a folded crimp. I have also seen outfits advertised a rolled crimp setup. Anyone have any experience with either and have opinions on what is best? I have only bought slugs that have the rolled crimp and even though it might be easier to use a folded crimp, will that give me the accuracy that I need?

richhodg66
01-07-2012, 09:51 PM
There's a whole section here on casting for shotguns and some guys have gotten some absolutely astounding performance out of both the Lyman and Lees. Browse around in that section and you'll most likely find answers to all your questions.

I'm just getting around to dabbling in slug loading, though I really doubt I'll ever get them to where they'll out perform an inline muzzle loader (which is legal equipment in any shotgun only area I'veever seen), but it seems like an interesting pursuit anyway.

Crawdaddy
01-07-2012, 11:24 PM
I use the Lee 7/8 with very good accuracy. It took a loooonnngggg time to find a load that worked but I got it. Here is a link to my very first post on this site. Hope it helps.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=129435

white eagle