PDA

View Full Version : Sizing a Boolit, makes it less accurate ?

JonB_in_Glencoe
12-22-2011, 08:29 AM
This is a quote from page 41 of the RCBS cast bullet manual #1

Effect of Sizing
Experience has shown that each .001" of sizing results in about an extra inch of group dispersion at 100 yards. And don't think your barrel can size any better than your sizer/lubricator. It can't. The bullets must be perfect out of the mould.

I posted this in another thread to clarify that RCBS molds have 'tight specs' and don't cast oversize. I have beening thinking about this since then...and I find it hard to believe the 1" of Dispersion at 100 yards for every .001" of sizing, but I am no expert, and have done NO tests to contradict this statement.

Is anyone else skeptical of this as well ?
Jon

cajun shooter
12-22-2011, 09:06 AM
I have been casting since 1970 and I have purchased lots of RCBS moulds.
For RCBS to make such a blanket statement is a mistake. There are too many variables in casting such as alloy used being the largest to warped blocks that produce out of round bullets.
As a general rule your cast bullet should be .001 larger than the bore of the gun it is fired from. I have owned many different brands and types of guns and they all have a certain preference for a certain size of bullet.
My S&W model 27 shot best with .358 bullets with a .357 bore. My Colt shot best with a .454 bullet and a .4525 bore.
I currently shoot the 44-40 caliber with 100% black powder and bullets that are sized and lubed at .429 and the rifle and revolvers have bores of .427.
Things such as powder used, amounts used, type of targets, and distance all come to mind.
I say this as being my experience and not that it is anything that is a standard for others to do.
I also would like to see the entire article that your quote came from as we may be in the wrong building all together.

gnoahhh
12-22-2011, 10:34 AM