PDA

View Full Version : Melting Down Bought Cast

BlueMoon
06-20-2005, 11:46 AM
I have several brands of bought cast bullets that I've collected over the years. After I started to reload my own, it didn't take long for me to want to shoot lead bullets instead of jkt.

I have quite a few 38 caliber cast bullets from National bullet co., that I bought 6 or 7 years ago, in 148 DEWC and 158 SWC that I can't get to shoot straight fast or slow. They look good and mic about .358" and test out to be fairly hard but my revolver doesn't like them.

I've been casting some of my own for a few years now and wonder if I should just throw them into the pot and cast my own bullets with them? I'm not out of other alloy to cast with but it seems a waste to keep bullets on the shelf that won't shoot. Should I do anything special to them before re-melting. I thought the lube would act like flux or something.

I have a Ly. #358429 mold and a RCBS 158grn GC mold that would be used if I melt them down. Any tips or suggestions?

Please excuse my spelling of boolit, I have trouble spelling enough anyway, it's hard to change.

Bill

carpetman
06-20-2005, 12:19 PM
Blue Moon--Bill,you have bullets you cant get to shoot as well as the ones you cast. Should you re-melt them? That's a tough question. Are they serving some useful purpose otherwise? If so,tell us what it is. Do you have plans for them for some purpose other than shooting? If so,tell us about that. If the answer to those two questions is no,I'd say re-melt them. Do you have to do anything special to re-melt them? Yes. You must get them hot.

Poygan
06-20-2005, 12:48 PM