PDA

View Full Version : Question on 44 cal sizing

Moonman
12-08-2011, 07:46 PM
I have a recently acquired S&W MODEL 29-5 44MAG 6"barrel with cylinder mouths that ALL measure .4330 with a machinist telescoping gage.

Today I received a set of gage pins from Grizzley .201/.500 (.0002 Minus) a 250 piece set, they're Great. Grizzley # G9794 for $75 plus 11.50 UPS Ship.

My cylinder mouths measure .443 (.4328) with the pins for a sliding fit, so the telescoping gage was closer at .4330. (I'm a retired machinist).

I plan to basically shoot 44 Special type loads for target shooting as I do not hunt, probably using both 44 Special and 44 Mag Brass as I have both.

The question is:
Should I look to use a softer lead alloy and look to cast BOOLITS .434 and size to .433, or should I look to cast .435 and size to .434?

I have not Slugged the Barrel of the Model 29.

Your Opinions and Suggestions Please.

williamwaco
12-08-2011, 07:58 PM
I have a recently acquired S&W MODEL 29-5 44MAG 6"barrel with cylinder mouths that ALL measure .4330 with a machinist telescoping gage.

Today I received a set of gage pins from Grizzley .201/.500 (.0002 Minus) a 250 piece set, they're Great. Grizzley # G9794 for $75 plus 11.50 UPS Ship.

My cylinder mouths measure .443 (.4328) with the pins for a sliding fit, so the telescoping gage was closer at .4330. (I'm a retired machinist).

I plan to basically shoot 44 Special type loads for target shooting as I do not hunt, probably using both 44 Special and 44 Mag Brass as I have both.

The question is:
Should I look to use a softer lead alloy and look to cast BOOLITS .434 and size to .433, or should I look to cast .435 and size to .434?

I have not Slugged the Barrel of the Model 29.

Your Opinions and Suggestions Please.

I am confused.

Is that .443 a typo?

Moonman
12-08-2011, 08:05 PM
A typo, I corrected it. Measures .433

Larry Gibson
12-08-2011, 08:07 PM