PDA

View Full Version : Zinc WW

mto7464
02-22-2007, 11:31 PM
I am just getting into casting and was given a couple of buckets of WW. I read in a thread below about zinc WW. How can you tell zinc ones from lead? I smelted about 30lbs into ingots this afternoon. Could I have messed it up if I melted some zinc weights in it?

Marc2
02-22-2007, 11:47 PM
What was the top temp. that your melt reached?

Marc

mto7464
02-22-2007, 11:58 PM
I didn't have a thermometer so I guess I need to get one.

NVcurmudgeon
02-23-2007, 12:00 AM
mto, first sort through your WW. Keep the tape-on weights separate. Test weghts with riveted clips using a magnet, if the magnet sticks to the weight, not the clip it is steel or iron, toss it. Now smelt your WW, keeping the temperature down to 600-650 F. This will melt all normal lead alloy WW but if there are any zinc, they will float to the top. zinc has a melting teperature of 787 or so F, so you can toss the floaters and not worry abut contamination. The very few zinc weights I have found were all marked "ZN." Now for the tape-on weights you set aside. If some of them are smaller than the others. They are likely steel, check with your magnet, and toss. Tape-on weights must bend easily to conform to the curve of the wheel, so steel tape-on weights are made very small so they can stick without having to bend. The remaining larger tape-on weights are the good pure lead ones. First soak them in gasoline, kerosene, or mineral spirits to cut the glue on the tape. Then smelt the good tape-ons at 600-650. The pure lead is prime muzzle loader ball material, and excellent for barrel measuring slugs. With these simple precautions I have manage to smelt over 1000 lbs. of WW since the worries abut zinc began with no contamination.

Ohio Rusty
02-23-2007, 02:21 AM