PDA

View Full Version : I'm making progress, I think?

joken
12-02-2011, 11:10 PM
I'm a rookie at casting and have been having serious leading issues in my 1911 .45's. I'm using Lee dies .452 and the Lee sizer and lube. After spending a half hour cleaning my new Dan Wesson CCO last night I started looking for a solution. The primary causes I read about here were insufficient lube and too hot a load. I was loading 5 gr of red dot under a 230 LRN. More lube didn't help, but backing off on the powder sure did. I shot my Star PD tonight and loaded clear down to 4 grains. There was no leading from 4.5 and below. I didn't work up from 4.5. I slugged the barrel on the Star(first time ever) and it was right at .450. My bullets measured 451. None of the bullets required sizing in the .452 sizer. The lube was the Lee Alox that came with the sizer. Bullet hardness did not seem to be an issue. Am I on track here?

Thanks, Ken

littlejack
12-02-2011, 11:48 PM
joken:
Welcome to the CastBoolits.
I wouldn't think that velocity in the 45 acp will be an issue. Size matters though. As long as your boolits are .001 over groove size you should be ok. You did not mention the alloy you are using? I have read that any alloy soft or hard will do in a 45 acp, do to the relitivly slow velocity. I do not know if I believe that or not?
Lube can and will present a leading problem in some circustances. Bore condition can and will cause leading if it is rough or has machine marks.
Jack
PS, what part of orygun are you in?

joken
12-03-2011, 12:13 AM
Corvallis. Thanks

littlejack
12-03-2011, 12:15 AM
Yes sir.
I'm just a few mile south of you, Eugene.

mroliver77
12-03-2011, 12:36 AM
Tell us what alloy please. Air cooled or quenched? I run .452 in all 45 acp.

If you cured the leading you are making progress. Too hard of alloy will cause leading sometimes.
Jay

littlejack
12-03-2011, 03:33 AM