PDA

View Full Version : No more &@*% sabots!

subsonic
11-25-2011, 11:43 PM
I've been shooting my Encore for about 5 years with 777 and various sabot'd ammo. I have definitely noticed a trend and I'm done with sabots!

Every saboted bullet or boolit took a different amount of pressure to seat! I clean between shots so I know it's not just fouling changing things. Today I shot the last 3 hornady SST "Low Drag" 250 gr from last year's pack and opened a pack that I just purchased. I was also trying blackhorn 209 this year which calls for regular shotgun 209 primers instead of low powered "muzzleloader" 209s. While these never shot great they would usually group under 2" at 100 when loaded over 100gr and are available loacally for around $12 / 20. The first one I loaded was very easy to seat against the powder and hit 5" lower than the 3 from the old pack. It also sounded and felt weaker. I loaded another one and it and the next one landed on the ground in front of the 25yd berms, with a flame coming out of the barrel after them. I mic'ed the remainin 17 bullets and they ALL were .4517"! But the sabots were all over the place, varyin by as much as .001" on a petal. I took the pack back and got my money back. I have a few 200gr T/C sabots left that I will have to use to hunt with, since the season starts very soon and they have worked OK in the past, shooting similar groups. BUT I will not be using any more sabots after that!

What cast shoots good in the Encore 1:28 guns without a sabot? REAL 250, 320, or ?

wgr
11-25-2011, 11:51 PM
maxie ball. are go to 90 grains of 2f black and shoot the sabots. get the sabots and bullets seperate. i use knight black sabots and .250 grain 45 cal. xtp bullets

Crawdaddy
11-26-2011, 01:29 AM
Try using Harvester Crushed Rib sabots. Much more consistent.

DODGEM250
11-26-2011, 06:40 AM
Are you using loose powder or them worthless pellets ?

My next question is, are you shooting 90-110 grains or are you trying to shoot 150 ?

P.K.