PDA

View Full Version : Current lead price

AmericanPatriot
11-22-2011, 03:12 PM
Hello all,

I am new to boolit casting, and really just learning, so I am looking for lead to stock up with, rather than jump right in and start casting.

What is a good price to "stock up" on lead at?

I found a site online that claims the price of lead is about $0.85 per pound.

I have found a couple of local sellers on craigslist that have lead for around $1.00 per pound.

Should I be looking for less, maybe around $0.50, since I don't have an immediate use for it?

Trey45
11-22-2011, 03:13 PM
Welcome to the forum.

If you can find lead at 50 cents a pound, buy every piece of it you can get. If you can't buy his entire inventory, tell the rest of us where you're finding lead at that price so we can buy some too.

AmericanPatriot
11-22-2011, 03:19 PM
I haven't yet. The only 2 sellers I've found are about $1.00 per pound, with no guarantee of how pure it is. Is that still a good price to buy a bunch at?

If I buy 5 pounds to test (melt), and it's an alloy, will the metals still separate at the melting temperature of lead or will I have to get it hotter to get the metals to separate?

SkookumJeff
11-22-2011, 03:34 PM
If you live in a state where lead wheel weights are still legal, I would NOT pay $1.00 a pound. Look for lead from tire dealers, offer them .50/lb or less.