PDA

View Full Version : Butt Ugly

IcerUSA
02-17-2007, 11:42 PM
This is my first attempt at mold makeing :oops: [smilie=b: . Think I need to reshape my cutter a little ROFL. Well anyway, they are kind of oval, running from about .359 to .370ish. They also weigh in at about 147grains .

Sized a few and about wiped the lube grooves off for the 9mm, bummer.
I have 72 that are ugly but if someone wants to play with them give me a PM and I'll send them to ya :drinks::cbpour: :holysheep

Keith

Mk42gunner
02-18-2007, 12:10 AM
Hey everybody has to learn somewhere. They at least look like boolits not sinkers.
Don't get dicouraged.

Robert

RANGER RICK
02-18-2007, 12:16 AM
One good thing about butt ugly bullets is you can remelt them and do them over .
Keep the silver stream going !!!!!

RR

GP100man
02-18-2007, 12:21 AM
icer
they look like some cowboy boolits ???
price on mold???
i have a gp100 that has 3585 throats.
GP

leftiye
02-18-2007, 03:40 AM
Heh, Heh. You didn't expect the first one to be perfect or somethin, did ya? How in blazes could you know everything before you tried? They don't look so bad to me. Do you have an idea why they turned out oval?

I'm going to make lube grooved boolit molds someday, I'm fiddling with the design for the vise to close the halves on the cherry at present. Come back and tell us how you made your cutter (cherry) when you've got a minute or so.

44man
02-18-2007, 09:18 AM
If that mold was cherry cut, the blocks were most likely moving as the cutting edges hit the parting line. Everything has to be super ridgid and the only things you want to move are the vise jaws, in and out, no side play. Eack block half has to be clamped tight in the vise jaw.
I lock everything down on my lathe-mill tight.
Lathe boring will give you the same problem if something is moving, very hard to see a few thousandths motion. Even loading the chuck with off center weight will make it wobble enough to cause an oval cut.
Go back and look at your setup.

IcerUSA