PDA

View Full Version : BNH on factory lead bullets ?

milprileb
11-13-2011, 10:11 AM
Speer and others sell lead bullets for pistols.

Does anyone know the BNH hardlness value of such factory
made lead bullets in 9mm and 45acp?

Just curious what hardness their alloy is.

Thank you in advance.

ku4hx
11-13-2011, 10:38 AM
Good question; be interested to see the numbers. I know many years ago those from the major ammo firms were swaged which meant they were very soft. But I've been casting so long I haven't even considered them for over 40+ years.

Maybe the big factories have switched to harder cast but Speer still advertises theirs as "cold formed" which requires a softish alloy.

milprileb
11-13-2011, 10:52 AM
I lost track myself but I used to think they were all swaged
and although they shot well in 1968 in 45acp , I have no idea how
well they would do in 9mm.

fishnbob
11-13-2011, 11:10 AM
I just checked a batch of 250gr cast boolits that I picked up at a Gun Show, sold by Georgia Arms and they checked 22.7 BHN with a Lee Hardness Tester. That's pretty hard for a .45 Colt and that's what I bought them for but with that hardness they could stand the pressures of a .45 ACP. Don't ya think?
I just looked at them closely and they were cast, not swaged. You can see the mold lines on the nose and the sprue cut on the base. Ain't no telling what is in the lead, maybe lino? I'll have to fire some and see how it comes out.

milprileb
11-13-2011, 11:15 AM
Ought to be okay for 45acp. However those are cast bullets and I was hoping to hear about Speer and other makers swaged commercial lead bullets and how hard they are.

MtGun44
11-13-2011, 11:24 AM
I have not shot any of the Speer 200 SWCs that I used to buy in bulk in many years but they
used to be very, very soft - probably pure lead. They were swaged and coated with a waxy
black lube all over. They were some of the most accurate boolits I ever used in my .45 ACP