PDA

View Full Version : Loading Cast with Hornady 45/70 Brass

BigRix
11-12-2011, 02:55 PM
I was gifted a couple hundred pieces of Hornady once fired 45/70 brass which some of you may know is shorter than standard length. I loaded boolits cast from my newly acquired Lyman 457643BV mold into both Starline and Hornady brass. Dummy rounds just to check feeding and die set up. I roll crimped the Starline then used the Lee Factory Crimp die on the Hornady. I'm not sure what the crimp should look like when using the FCD as I have never used one before. I can not push the boolit any further into the case so I assume it is crimped but I'm not sure if this will fly.

Any thoughts? Is this gonna work?

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss208/BigRix/Casting/6b4744a9.jpg

The choices as I see them are,

Run them as shown and use the same powder charges in both.

Seat the boolit deeper in the Hornady brass and work up smaller powder charges for them. Kinda like a .38 Special in a .357 Mag.

Only run Hornady flex tips in this brass.

These will be used in a Marlin 1895G

MtGun44
11-12-2011, 03:00 PM
Given the GIANT powder volume in the .45-70, the effects of deeper seating will be far
less than in something like a 9mm. However, I'd back the charge off just a bit and see
how it goes. OTOH, if the load is well below max I probably wouldn't sweat it in this situation,
due to the very small percentage change in combustion chamber volume that you would
have.

Just curious - why in the world would Hornady make their brass shorter than normal?

Bill

BigRix
11-12-2011, 03:11 PM
Its shorter to accommodate the bullet design in the LeverEvolution and keep overall length within specs.

Jim
11-12-2011, 03:55 PM
I first learned of Hornaday's short brass the day after a friend gave me a couple dozen. They aren't long enough to reach the roll crimp stage of the seating die or the top of the collet on the FCD. I chucked 'em in the dumpster.

MikeS
11-12-2011, 03:58 PM