PDA

View Full Version : Which melting pot?

bob v
11-01-2011, 03:15 PM
I know this should start something, but I'm new to casting ,on a limited budget(aren't we all) and I'm getting ready to buy a melting pot . Should I get the one with the spout on the bottom or the "plain" one that you dip out? I'm not against dippin', just think the "spout" might be a little troublesome. Let's go! give me some pros&cons and experience. Thanks.....bob v

Also, how about some dealers you guys like to deal with where they have a lot of casters needs.

fredj338
11-01-2011, 04:26 PM
I find a bottom pour pot easier to cast with, but some like a dipper. The Lee 20# bottom pour (BP) is only $10 more than the 10# & worth it IMO. If you are casting large bullets or a 4-6cav mold, 10# of alloy doesn't go far.

Old Caster
11-01-2011, 04:31 PM
Since you are starting out on a budget you need a Lee. Try and afford the 20 pound model because you will get tired of a 10 real fast because just about the time you get up to speed, you will need to add lead and your temperature will get too cold so you can start again. You can ladle cast out of it also if you want.
I like the RCBS with my Waage pot beside it so I can pour frim the Waage to the RCBS without varying the temperature but together you could probably buy 6 Lees with the money. There is certainly a difference but I doubt that it would matter to you at this time.

ku4hx
11-01-2011, 04:59 PM
Currently I use a Lyman Mag20 Furnace and I like it. I have a 1970 vintage Lyman 10# pot as a standby.

I use the bottom spout mostly but some very few molds I have prefer a dipper, but I use whichever pour method works. I like having choices.

About once a casting season (our Winter months here in the Sunny South) I have to unclog and clean the spout. No big deal, I have to clean the wax out of my ears too.

Mk42gunner
11-02-2011, 04:37 PM