PDA

View Full Version : filler test

btroj
10-26-2011, 04:26 PM
Based upon previous discussions with other members here I decided to run a quick test on the use of fillers in my Marlin 45-70. I have never used a filler in this gun before and usually go with a load of 24 gr of 2400 with a 460420 plain base bullet. This load has worked very well for me over the years and is what I shoot the most in this rifle.

All these targets where shot in the order shown. The barrel was warmed with 5 shots first as I have seen erratic groups below 50 degrees from a cold barrel when using Carnuba Red. I fired all these groups in about 15 minutes and the barrel was not cleaned during the test. This loads has never given any, and I mean any, leading in this rifle. The bore is spotless after a single dry patch thru it.

I shot 4 targets using the same load. One load had a filler the other 3 targets were shot using no filler. The 3 targets were shot in the following manner. First group was fed single rounds into the chamber, no orientation of rifle prior to shooting. Second group was fired with each round being fed directly into the chamber and the barrel was pointed down and the gun was shook before bringing it level prior to each shot. This was to get the powder oriented as far from the primer as possible for each shot. the third group was fired with rounds fed from the magazine. As the rifle holds only 4 in the magazine I fired 4, 4, and 2. The rifle was not removed from the rest for this group.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/imagehosting/thum_16434ea8684a17e44.jpg (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/vbimghost.php?do=displayimg&imgid=2507)

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/imagehosting/thum_16434ea8686792b8d.jpg (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/vbimghost.php?do=displayimg&imgid=2508)

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/imagehosting/thum_16434ea8687687fac.jpg (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/vbimghost.php?do=displayimg&imgid=2509)