PDA

View Full Version : How Hard??

threett1
02-11-2007, 09:42 PM
I was playing with Veral's hardness tester a bit today and got some really high numbers with some water quenched WWs semiwadcutters I had. Also tested some known pure lead and got reasonable readings. First time with this so I know I'm no expert. How hard have some of you guys read from your testers?:castmine:

454PB
02-11-2007, 10:45 PM
I've seen quenched WW's hit 30 BHN after a few weeks.

Uncle Grinch
02-11-2007, 11:37 PM
My WW boolits, with just a wee bit of lino added (10 - 1 ) run a 22 BHN when water quenched. Haven't tried air cooled yet. I water drop everything.

Shuz
02-12-2007, 11:18 AM
In my experience, water quenched ww's reach Bhn 22 in a day or two after casting. Over time they still test Saeco 10(Bhn 22). I have had "richer" antimonial or perhaps bismuth enriched alloys, test at Saeco 11(Bhn 27-28) after quenching and waiting a few days. For my .44 mag handgun loads, I try to maintain a hardness between Bhn 9 to 14. Again, in my experience, that is obtained from ww+1% tin and air cooled, not quenched.--Shuz

Char-Gar
02-12-2007, 11:33 AM
This hard/water droped stuff is way, way over done in sixgun loads. There is no sixgun bullets that needs to be that hard. You can use them in full snort top end magnum loads, but drop the pressure from the top end, and they start to be a problem.

More leading comes from bullets that are too hard, than bullets that too soft.

IMHO Bhn 15 is as hard as anybody needs to go with magnum loads. Non-magnum loads are better served with bulletrs in the 9-11 Bhn range.

Navahojoe
02-12-2007, 12:15 PM
+1 for Chargar and Shuz. I completely agree. I air cool my alloy mix for the .44 mag and .45 Colt, BHN of about 9 to 14, no leading.

regards,
NavahoJoe

:castmine: so I can :Fire:

Springfield
02-12-2007, 12:23 PM