PDA

View Full Version : Hello, to the bullet Masters out there! Question...

sabrecross03
10-17-2011, 10:38 AM
Hi, my name is Roger and I am new to the forum. I'll new to casting and I have been casting for three months. I've searched for the answer to my question and I have been unable to find the answer to my question.

I've included a picture of the loaded Lee TL.358-158SWC in my 9mm case (OAL is 1.09"), the Lee TL.358-158 SWC bullet (middle), and the Lee TL.356-124TC bullet (right).

SITUATION and FACTS:
I have a S&W M&P 9c with a slugged barrel of .356
I am using a Lee TL .356-124TC mold and I am consistently getting .355 bullets whether I air dry them or water quench them. My alloy is Lyman #2. I use Lee Alox Tumble Lube.

I also have a S&W 360 357 magnum revolver. I cast bullets for it using a Lee TL .358-158 SWC mold. If I size them, the diameter of my bullet is 357.57 on the micrometer and 157.5 gr on the scale.

I would like to use the Lee TL .358-158 SWC bullets for my 9mm. They chamber and cycle fine with an OAL of 1.009 but I'm not sure if the generated pressure will be too high for that particular round.

MEASUREMENTS:

A. (pictured on the left) OAL of .358 bullet 1.009 (In order to chamber & cycle)
B: (pictured in the middle) Bullet length of Lee TL .358-158SWC: .375"
C: (pictured on the right) Bullet length of Lee TL .356-124TC Bullet length: .275"
D: (Not Pictured and just for comparison) OAL of .356 Bullet 1.100"
E: (Not Pictured) 9mm Inside Case length: .580" length measure from the
inside of the case from the primer to bullet opening

QUESTION:
1. If I use my .358-158 SWC bullet in my 9mm case, will the decreased volume (due to the longer bullet +.100" and the shorter OAL 1.009) cause undue pressure in my M&P?