PDA

View Full Version : 45 colt powder choices

Doc.Holliday
10-15-2011, 06:29 PM
Good afternoon; I am a newbie to this forum and also a new 45 colt reloader.
I have one nagging question when it comes to reloading this cartridge regarding powder choices.
I am of the opinion that no matter what, you will never turn this cartridge into a race horse. So assuming you use the correct diameter of bullet for your 45 colt; the correct lube, the right primer, good brass, and a couple of reloading manuals for load data; WHAT is the real advantage of or how do you select a powder for this cartridge when the for example in Lymans Reloading Handbook #46 gives 7 powders for the#454190 bullet (250 grain#2 alloy) that if loaded to max load the velocity difference goes from 1017 fps with HS5 to 1185 fps with unique with the other 5 clustered around 1100 fps.
Now these are Ruger T/C loads.
So to summarize what would make one choose one powder over another in this instance where none is going to turn it into a barn burner. Would it be its clean burning traits. amount needed per load - economy, or what you already have on your bench?
Many thanks for your patience.
Doc

Wally
10-15-2011, 06:52 PM
IMHO Red Dot is the best choice as it is fluffier. Many like Trail Boss and Unique. As I recall Mike Ventrino advocated Red Dot powder, but now prefers Trail Boss...

Doc.Holliday
10-15-2011, 06:58 PM
I have that powder and I see in the book under Ruger loads 6.5 gr for 835 fps to 9.4 gr for 1097 fps.
I cannot see any other powder listed giving much better velocity or economy?
It is supposed to be a clean burner so perhaps there is no better alternative ??
Thank-you
Doc

rbertalotto
10-15-2011, 07:05 PM
I shoot lots of 45LC. I have six revolvers and five rifles in that caliber.