PDA

View Full Version : Ruger no.1 45-70 trouble

Kristoffer
09-28-2011, 05:59 PM
I'm new in casting and are struggeling with precision/leading problem in my Ruger no.1

I got an NOE 460350 (RD) mold wich casts really good looking bullets. I size/gc them to .459 with a Lee sizer die and then pan lube with 50/50beeswax.

I have tested both water dropped and air cooled ww but the precision is, in my opinion not very good at about 4" in 80 yards (3 shots). I have an Aimpoint 1X so i donīt expect wonders but i feel there is room for improvement, especially as there seems to be a bit of leading going on at the muzzle. The current load is 50gr Norma 200, higher loads seems only to open up the groups.

I remember when slugging the bore (at about .4575) it felt like the barrel was opening up at the middle and then went tighter again at the muzzle. Could it be the barrel causing this?

I'm thinking of sizeing to .460 instead, just to crimp on the gc and see what happends. And maybe should i try some harder lube?

I really could use some good advice about what to try next.

//Kristoffer

Guesser
09-28-2011, 06:29 PM
My #1 works really well with a plain base sized .458 over SR4759 powder. The sights are OEM and even with me in trifocals it will do better than your 80 yd. score, not a lot but maybe 3.5" @ 100 yds. from a rest. No leading from air cooled WW. I've never tried a GC boolit. My handicap is my eye sight, the gun does well even with me hanging on the left side of it.

white eagle
09-28-2011, 06:34 PM
not to worry
what is your alloy ?
sometimes all it takes is a different powder and vavooom
I use imr 3031 and am getting excellent results
I use an alloy bout the hardness of st8 ww

09-28-2011, 07:18 PM