PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Supplies Needed

Northface37
09-27-2011, 10:24 PM
Hi everyone, I am very new to the casting world. I have only casted few bullets with a friend of mine and was instantly intrigued. I have done some research and do know that I want a bottom pouring pot. However, I dont know what is good and what isnt. I have seen alot that range from like $40 or $50 up to $200+. As of right now I am mainly wanting to cast for my hunting rifles but can easily see myself wanting to cast for pistol ammo at some point in my lifetime.

Is there a specific casting bottom pour pot that you would recommend?

Size? 5lbs, 10lbs???

Can I use muffin tins or will the lead stick? Do I need the moulds I keep reading about? Or what do u think about cast iron tins?

How can I make it easier for the lumps of lead to fall out of the mould?

Thanks for all replies!

- Andy

waksupi
09-28-2011, 12:31 AM
Welcome aboard. Take a look in the Classics and Stickys section. I believe all of your answers will be found there.

Buckshot
09-28-2011, 02:45 AM
Hi everyone, I am very new to the casting world. I have only casted few bullets with a friend of mine and was instantly intrigued. I have done some research and do know that I want a bottom pouring pot. However, I dont know what is good and what isnt. I have seen alot that range from like $40 or $50 up to $200+. As of right now I am mainly wanting to cast for my hunting rifles but can easily see myself wanting to cast for pistol ammo at some point in my lifetime.

Is there a specific casting bottom pour pot that you would recommend?

Best bang for the buck, LEE.

Size? 5lbs, 10lbs???

20 lb

Can I use muffin tins or will the lead stick?

http://www.fototime.com/432F142B09E587B/standard.jpghttp://www.fototime.com/4F0787827D40539/standard.jpg