PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 4500 vs RCBS lube-o-matic2

mountain man
09-22-2011, 01:12 AM
I was hopeing someone could help me deside what one is better and why i'm new in the reloading and the bullet casting when i set my mind on something it's hard for me to get my mind off of this. I been doing alot of reading and looking and need alittle help witch one is better RCBS Lube-A-Matic-2 or the Lyman 4500

Angus
09-22-2011, 01:45 AM
The 4500 has an internal lube heater for use with harder rifle lubes. It also uses a ratchet to crank the lube plunger down instead of the "balls and shaft" (couldn't help myself) on a LAM. Personally I'd do what I did and wait on the Swappin & Sellin forum and get a used 450 or LAM. They are both cast iron work horses that never wear out. Buying used will save you a pie of money you can put towards dies, top punches, lubes, etc... If you are planning on casting for rifle get a heater and use the stiffer lubes (White Label carnauba red and 2500+ etc...). If you are going to be using it for pistol boolits (as most of us do) then skip the heater and use the softer lubes (White Label BAC, 50/50, Lyman Moly). If you have unlimited expendable income, from what I have read a Star is a marvel of engineering compared to the 450/4500 and LAM.

gandydancer
09-22-2011, 01:52 AM
do your self a favor and get a star. it cost more but well worth it.

Ausglock
09-22-2011, 07:11 AM
Broke my 450 today. Was cranking on the lever with heater on and some of jake's lube in the tube. next thing the ratchet turned real easy. turns out the bottom of the pressure screw broke off. So now I wait for Lyman to send a new one down to OZ.

Thank the lord I also have a RCBS LAM2.

If I was going to buy a new lubesizer, I would go for the LAM2. But modify the top. get rid of the ball and rod. drill a hole and insert a 1/4" hex driver and weld it through the lever hole. That way I can use the ratchet. It makes the LAM2 a great lubesizer to use,

Bret4207