PDA

View Full Version : A Dream Come True; Finally

HollowPoint
09-15-2011, 05:50 PM
It's been a long time coming. I'm not really sure of the exact time I've been saving up for this purchase.

Initially I had planned on buying a larger Manual Vertical Mill with all the bells and whistles but, during the time I was saving up the funds I slowly became interested in CNC Mills. Over the past couple of years I've been informally studying G-Code and CNC machines on my own.

I even went so far as to download some freeware Cad/Cam/Simulator software to see if I could get the hang of it. Turns out that it's not that complicated after all.

There are several things that I'm still struggling to learn (circular interpolation at the top of the list) but, for the most part I'm confident I can getter-done.

I've been using a small bench-top mill and lathe for about six years; maybe longer. (I guess that's about how long I've been saving and dreaming) I've posted pictures of some of my projects here on occasion. The problem is that the projects I was doing on these smaller machines just took a long time to complete. In addition to that, these bench-top machines weren't as accurate as I would have liked them to be.

When you have to work an income-producing job during the week, it leaves little time to play around with these bench-top hobby machines.

In spite of that I don't think I'll be selling either of them any time soon.

Yesterday I took delivery of my new Tormach PCNC 770 Deluxe package. Actually it was just the Mill and the Stand. The rest of my purchase will be here on Friday; I hope.

Right now the Mill itself is sitting in my carport behind the house. I have to wait for the "Moving-Kit" to arrive with tomorrow's shipment before I can complete the assembly.

I've had the Ideas and Concepts, and I have the CAD/CAM Software; now I have the CNC technology to bring my ideas into being.