PDA

View Full Version : The Bug Blaster

Nueces
01-29-2007, 02:45 PM
Some of you will recall magazine articles from years ago, titled “Silly Safaris,” or something like that. Backyard grasshopper hunts, and so on. When I was a grad student, I lived in a garage apartment next to a brushy urban drainage, full of cockroaches. Mental health evenings would be spent depopulating the roaches, using candlewax bullets in primer-only cases in my Model 19. Little purple splats on the rocks. Softly scented breeze carrying away the perfume from the wax. Hard reset of the little gray cells. To the end of her life, my Mother loved to tell folks about her roach hunter son.

Gave it up long ago, especially indoors, where the splats were tough to get off of lampshades and painted walls. Times, however, do change. One of Dad’s roles is Bug Killer. My ladies are fruit eaters and the drosophilae melanogaster (aka, fruit flies) have moved in with us. A cup of juice or cola, left out for days, will slowly accumulate swimmers and a few bank walkers, which may be harvested with a vacuum cleaner. Fairly effective but lacking in elegance. Certainly deficient in proper Bug Killer MoJo.

Well, Bunkie, you can have it all back, and more, with a way-cool widget I found on eBay (none there now). www.bugblaster.net Honcho is Martin Jenson, a Utah farmer and inventor. I have his permission to share this and use his photos.

This thing has a short spout that is inserted into the muzzle of a bb or pellet gun. Attachment is by bungee cord around the front sight. Fill the ‘magazine’ with table salt and each shot meters a blast of salt grains that more than does the job. I use a Walther PP CO2 BB pistol, with the bungees through the trigger guard. Range is short, but useful. Mine will shred a tissue held a foot from the muzzle. The BC of a salt grain is 0.0023, so you still need to sneek up on ‘em. Hunting ethics apply. Not for use where fruit flies are endangered.