PDA

View Full Version : 30-30 Boolits Seating Crooked...

UtopiaTexasG19
08-28-2011, 02:29 PM
I have been casting and re-loading 30-30 Winchester boolits for 3 months now and have been doing quite well with regular base cast boolits. A few days ago I cast my first Ranch Dog 30-30 boollits and since then lubricated, sized, applied gas checks and lubricated again. I am using the same Lee Deluxe 3 Die set as before but am having the gas checked bullets not seating straight in the casings. No matter how straight I hold the gas checked bullet on the casing rim I get some lead shavings and the boolit is slightly crooked in the casing after the boolit is seated. This is happening to about one in every 8 boolits I am trying to seat. I have never had this problem with the regular lead base cast boolits and the Lee die set, whether full lenght sizing or just neck sizing, appears to have no further adjustment as the necks in all cases appear to be the correct inside diameter. None of these dies appear to "flair" the neck like my pistol die sets accomplish. What am I doing wrong? Thanks...

Atakawow
08-28-2011, 02:52 PM
My bet is that your problem arises during the seating stage. This is what I would do:

- Unscrew your seating die. Unscrew the top end of your seating die.

- Take out the seating stem. The stem should have one hollow end and one solid flat end. My guess is that you were using the hollow end to seat the bullet. Try using the flat end.

- Insert the stem back in the die, with the flat end going in first.

Try this. It might solve your problem.

leadman
08-28-2011, 03:19 PM
Also are you using an expanding die first to open up the case mouth? I prefer the Lyman M dies for this.

runfiverun
08-28-2011, 03:52 PM
champher the case mouths.
check the seating die for lube build up.

Echo
08-28-2011, 03:59 PM
+1. If you don't have an M die, use a set of needle-nose pliers poked in and twisted some to flare the case mouth.