PDA

View Full Version : zouave

bart55
08-05-2011, 07:39 AM
Just bought an old navy arms zouave, I have all the stuff to shoot it but no musket caps, and it seems that no one has them ,dixie has rws but will not ship them . in store only . Can I replace the nipple and use a number 11 , and again what type of nipple should I get . I am new to percussion ,have hunted for years with a flint ignition rifle but never had a caplock .

Nobade
08-05-2011, 08:15 AM
Treso does make nipples that should fit and take #11 caps. Get a really good measurement of the threads and check Track of the Wolf's web site. They have lots of them, but not quite every one. Good place to start though.

I wanted to do the same thing with my Miroku '63, but couldn't find a nipple with the right threads. So I ordered 1000 musket caps from Powder Valley along with a bigger powder order and use them.

Fly
08-05-2011, 08:45 AM
Yea NoBlade is right on.Track of the wolf has anything you need.You might give them a
call & they can help you.There really good folks to deal with.

Fly

Tatume
08-05-2011, 11:51 AM
Once I had the idea that I wanted to replace the no. 11 nipple on my T/C Renegade with a musket nipple. When I did, I found that the taller musket nipple required bending of the hammer in order to strike the caps squarely. It was an unsatisfactory arrangement.

Try these guys for musket caps. You will need to leave a message when you call, as the lady is very busy. But, she will call you back. http://www.blackpowderva.com/

Take care, Tom

Hellgate
08-06-2011, 01:12 AM
The Zouaves used to come with a spare smaller cap size nipple. Take a look inside the patch box on the butt stock and you may find a replacement nipple for the smaller caps. My Navy Arms Zoli Zouave (bought new probably 1969) still has it screwed into the wood of the patch box cutout.

bart55
08-06-2011, 10:35 PM