PDA

View Full Version : Powder for 45acp, 9mm, and 38 special

lts70
08-02-2011, 05:54 PM
I am going to be reloading a lot of 45acp and 9mm now that I am set up to cast full tilt. I will also be doing some 38 special from time to time.

I have been reloading for 6 months now and have been using h38 exclusively for my 45acp rounds. I now need to buy more powder and want to buy bulk this time. Should I stick with the H38 or is there a better powder to fit all three cartridges. All bullets will be Boolits as well if that makes any difference.

Any advice would be appreciated.

W.R.Buchanan
08-02-2011, 06:07 PM
You can also use Winchester 231 which is HP/38 in a different can. They are identical powders made by the same outfit.

W231 is a good clean burning powder that has many uses in pistol cartirdges like you are loading.

I use it in .45 ACP, .40S&W, .44 Spec and light .44 magnum loads. It will certainly work just fine in 9 MM and .38 spec. As well.

There are many other powders that will work for these applications, but you are already using one of the best for these particular cartridges.

don't fix if ain't broke.

Randy

GabbyM
08-02-2011, 07:12 PM
HP-38 is a good and economical 9mm powder. I don't quite achieve the velocities published. At the 4.4 grain max listed charge for 124 grain RN boolits I have in the past measured .0003" case head expansion. Note that's 3 tenths not 3 thousandths. Many max loads in a 9mm will open the primer pockets after a half dozen reloads and it looks like 4.4 grains HP-38 would be another although I’ve never tested that out. 4.1 grains HP-38 under a 122-tc or 124-rn is a good working load. I clocked some 4.4 grain loads last Sunday. Under a Saeco #377, CCI primer, fed case, COL of 1.050” with 4” barrel average velocity was 1133 fps. Same load under a 124gr round nose clocked 1063 fps. The round nose seats shallower thus taking up less case capacity and yields less pressure.