PDA

View Full Version : First cast - good results, some questions

BigSlick
01-07-2007, 03:21 AM
I finally got off my duff and decided to cast a few tonight.

I've been smelting for about 6 months and had a few ww ingots on hand. I ordered a few molds and they arrived yesterday. I had a ton of household **** to get done today, and a bit of work, but finally get down to business with the new Lee 4-20 and the 501-440 RF mold I got in.

I dropped six muffin ingots of straight ww's in the pot. It had been doubled fluxed when I smelted it, so it looked pretty clean.

I cranked the pot up to max, waited about 30 minutes for everything to get hot. I prepped the mold using the suggestions in the Leementing posts, lubed the mold and had at it.

I turned out 50 bullets, just to see if there were any mold occlusions I missed or anything of the sort. It took about 10 minutes using one two banger mold.

The bullets all filled out nicely, with sharp edges. Most had a very slight frost, but just barely. I mic'ed them, all were dropped at .503. Since I really don't have a clue as to the actual makeup of the ww alloy, I can live with it.

All weighed out between 446.8 and 447.6 (without the gas check in place). I'm going to have to search a little to see if that sheds any light on my alloy. It was straight ww's from a variety of sources, so it's probably all over the map. I haven't weighed a gas check yet, so I don't know how much weight the checks will add. I need to work up a load from scratch for these without a doubt. The CPB 440 WFNGC's I've been using weigh out at 437-438 with the gas check. The bullet is otherwise nearly identical.