PDA

View Full Version : Shooting Cast in my 375 H&H

enigma
01-06-2007, 05:23 PM
Hello everyone,

I have a few questions for you experienced cast bullet shooters out there!

I just ordered 200 .376 cal FP GC TLG 265gr cast bullets from ( http://www.thebulletbarn.com ) located in British Columbia. Its my first time reloading cast bullets and I intend to shoot them in my Winchester M70 in 375 H&H... When I ordered the bullet, I was told the mold they used for that bullet was a Saeco. The reason behind this order was to shoot as cheap as possible!!!

Here are my questions:

1) I was told that Unique is a good powder for reduced loads in that caliber, is this true?

2) If one was to use Unique, does anyone have some load data for me?

3) Is a filler required with Unique?

4) Is it safe to apply a lite crimp with the Lee Factory crimp die on cast bullets?

The reason I am interested with Unique is that I have 4 pounds of it!!!

Thanks for you replies.

Maurice

AlaskaMike
01-06-2007, 06:32 PM
1) I was told that Unique is a good powder for reduced loads in that caliber, is this true?

2) If one was to use Unique, does anyone have some load data for me?

4) Is it safe to apply a lite crimp with the Lee Factory crimp die on cast bullets?

I'm only just starting out shooting cast in my rifles, and that only being .30-06, so hopefully someone with more experience can correct me if I say anything stupid here.

1) I haven't used unique in my .30-06 cast loads, but I'm sure as long as you stick to published loads you should be fine.

2) As far as load data, I don't know any off the top of my head, but I would certainly recommend getting Lyman's Cast Bullet Manual. The data in it appears to be a little dated now, but that shouldn't be a problem.

3) I don't think a filler would be needed with Unique, but then I don't have any experience shooting it in cast rifle loads.