PDA

View Full Version : 1911 holster help

db2
01-01-2007, 07:11 PM
A few months back I bought a 1911 style handgun. I also bought a holster for it. It is the type that clips on your belt. Well, I hate it. It slides around and, I do not like the feel of it. So, what kind, and make of holsters do you like? This is not for concealed carry. I am just overwhelmed by how many choices there are. I am hoping to find a good holster with out buying 5 different ones.

Thanks
db2

MT Gianni
01-01-2007, 08:49 PM
There are literally hundreds. I have had good luck with Safariland leather. I prefer a thumbbreak, but everyone is different. You might check out a similar thread for a holster that includes a linc for a holster maker in AK. His look quality made and a fair price but I have no experience there. Gianni.

Lee W
01-01-2007, 08:56 PM
http://www.heinie.com/leather.html

I have the 701 model. Very nice.
It is made by Lou Alessi, his site is not working for me today.

alessileather.com

Char-Gar
01-01-2007, 09:27 PM
I suspect you will get many different suggestions as holster are a personal sorta thing. When ever I need a new holster, I go to El Paso Saddlery. They offer many different styles and their work is superlative on all of them. You can google up their web address.

My personal favorties are their 1920 (Threepersons) belt holster and their 1942 chest/shoulder holster.

Bubba w/a 45/70
01-01-2007, 09:36 PM
Here's the link MT Gianni is talking about. Rob's work is top notch!!

http://http://www.simplyrugged.com/

I have one of his pancakes for my S&W 19, and just love it! I will be ordering from him in the future when the need arises for other holsters. He also is a top notch gentleman to deal with.

Murphy
01-01-2007, 10:03 PM
db2,

As stated above, there are 100's of designs for 1911 holsters.

In my own humble opinion, it pretty much depends on several things.