PDA

View Full Version : New guy just getting started

Kyrifleman
06-01-2011, 11:33 PM
I've been reloading a few different calibers for about 3 years now and I want to get into casting for 30-30. I have all the stuff together I'll need to cast ingots but I haven't gotten any of the tools I'll need to actually cast bullets. Trying to cast rifle bullets of the right size and hardness sounds intimidating but there seems to be some really helpful and knowledgeable people here to give advice.

So anyhow, there's my introduction. Glad to be here. :cbpour:

Three-Fifty-Seven
06-01-2011, 11:41 PM
Welcome!

Tell us a little more ...

What type of shooting do you plan on doing with your 30-30? (plinking, target, hunting)

What gun(s) do you have in 30-30?

Just this evening I was walking back to my truck in the truckstop and I saw the truck with a silhouette of a '94 and it said Winchester above it, below it was the truck number 30-30 I just smiled, and glanced up to see if the driver was there ... I did not see anybody, so I kept walking, I should have taken a picture!

Kyrifleman
06-01-2011, 11:57 PM
Mostly plinking. If it's accurate enough to smack a bowling pin at 100-150 yards, it's good enough. Maybe knock off a yote or a pig occasionally, but 99% plinking. I have a post-64 top eject 94 Winchester 30-30 with a Lyman 66. I also have a 94AE Legacy in 44 Mag that I love to shoot. I don't directly plan to cast for that one as bullets are so easy to find.

One of the main things I wonder about is how much trouble will it be to use wheel weights for 30-30. I work in a shop that does wheel balancing among other things so I have a steady supply of WWs.

Oh yeah, thanks for the welcome too :)

Stick_man
06-02-2011, 12:17 AM
welcome! You are a lucky man if you have the steady supply of WWs. Get 'em while you can, cuz the lead weights are on their way out, making way to inferior ones made of Zinc or Steel.