PDA

View Full Version : Mowrey 45 cal. question

timetohunt
12-29-2006, 11:08 AM
Hi all I am a newbie to this forum and I am hoping someone can give me some
help with a Mowrey 45 cal. rifle I just purchased. I believe it is one of the "Ethan Allen" style rifles made by Mowrey or Deer Creek. The main question I have is,
what is the twist on the barrel? I will probably shoot patched balls but would like to know if I can also shoot conical bullets too.

Boz330
12-29-2006, 11:56 AM
Timetohunt,
Accordng to my catalog it should be a 1-66. I have one of the Hopkins and Allen under hammer rifles in .50 and it is a tack driver. The kits are built completely on site and the quality is first rate. I have been eyeballing one of the Mowery kits but my cup runneth over with projects, and unfortunately making a living gets in the way as well.

Bob

timetohunt
12-29-2006, 12:04 PM
Bob,
Thanks for the info. I am looking forward to shooting it this weekend. I will be using Hornay .440 round balls with .010 TC prelubed patches and 70 grains of Pyrodex to start.
I had been eyeing it for a while myself and decided to go ahead and give myself a Xmas present.

Boz330
12-29-2006, 12:17 PM
This may not apply to your gun, since mine is a 50. I use BP and I didn't get good groups till I had it stoked pretty good. For my 50 I use 100gr of 3F and a really tight patch .020 w .490 RB. I started with 60 gr and it didn't group worth a darn, as I went up the groups got better and better.

Bob

timetohunt
12-29-2006, 12:34 PM
So you think I should use BP and a loarge ball/patch combo?

timetohunt
12-29-2006, 12:34 PM
Sorry misspell "larger ball/patch combo'

KCSO
12-29-2006, 01:35 PM