PDA

View Full Version : Gas Checks...Need an Expert??

rbertalotto
05-12-2011, 09:58 PM
Tonight was my first time trying to install gas checks on 45-70 boolits

Ranch Dog Molds (for GCs) dropping boolits of .460

Hornady Gas Checks as recommended by RD

Lee .460 sizing die

Issues:

I put a GC on the bottom of the boolit and send it up through the sizing die.

The GCs are not on very firm. I can remove them with my thumb nail after they are sized.

I loaded a boolit in a case without powder and using an impact boolit removal hammer, the boolit came out but the GC remained in the case.

On some Cast Precision boolits I have with GCs, you can not remove the GC no matter how hard you try.

What am I doing wrong?

Ben
05-12-2011, 10:07 PM
Unfortunately, I'm no expert, but I'll offer my .02.

What am I doing wrong ? Possibly nothing .........

Mike the g/c shank on 5 bullets.....get the average for the 5 bullets....contact Ranch Dog molds give him your g/c shank dia. and tell him of your problem.

Could be that your g/c shank diameter on your mold is too small.

Wouldn't be the first with this problem ( and I speak of all molds made by all vendors, not just Ranch Dog's )

Bullshop
05-12-2011, 10:09 PM
The Lee sizers are not the best system for installing gas checks but the fix might be as simple as using Gator chex 458 checks. Gator checks come in two sizes for 45 cal, pistol and rifle.
Check with member Blammer in the vendor sponsor forum to get those.

rbertalotto
05-12-2011, 10:32 PM
Thanks...........

Tomorrow I'll fire some of these boolits and try to watch them as they come out of the barrel and see if the gas checks are still on..........:bigsmyl2:

We'll just have to see how the accuracy is.............

geargnasher
05-12-2011, 10:38 PM
How are your boolit bases? Are they clean and sharp, fully filled-out, or are they rounded and shrunken?