PDA

View Full Version : Them cast boolits will shoot!

texas tenring
12-12-2006, 09:18 PM
Well I finally won one of my clubs military matches this past Sunday. I've been in the money a few times and won the bench rest pot several times but my new cast boolits finally got the job done.

I was shooting my Finn 91/30, 7.62X54R with the Lee C185-312-R Gas check boolit straight wheel weight air cooled non sized and tumble lubed with Lee LA. Powder was 2400 at 18grs. and OAL 2.860 seating depth seemed to be key in getting this load to shoot, velocity averaged 1670fps.

The matches consist of two five round bench rest targets and one ten round standing man target all at 100yds. Any as issued military rifle with iron sights. My smallest group in this match was just under 1.5" check out the results at the following link. http://flanders.pippin.ch/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=391&PN=1

I am new to boolit casting but with all the good advice on these forums its made taking on a new challenge a pleasure without all the blind stupid mistakes of doing it on your own.

David

mag_01
12-12-2006, 09:29 PM
David that is the magic load----18grs. of 2400-----Good shooting on your part--------- that load works well in all of my Mosin Nagant's.---Mag

carpetman
12-12-2006, 10:23 PM
Texastenring---Congrats on winning the match. Now I know a fellow Texan did it the real way and used bullets cast on a buffalo dung fire. Well you did didnt you?

Char-Gar
12-12-2006, 10:59 PM
Texastenring... Where abouts in the Panhandle are you. I used to live in Pampa and Booker and have traveled most of the area? I am guessing Amarillo.

texas tenring
12-12-2006, 11:01 PM
Of course Carpetman every Texan worth anything knows buffalo dung is the most consistant heat source!!! Mesquite wood is a good second choice in a pinch and you can cook those thick buffalo steaks in between casting and a cold beer:drinks:

texas tenring
12-12-2006, 11:03 PM
Charger I'm in Plainview.

carpetman
12-12-2006, 11:20 PM