PDA

View Full Version : 230 gn swc 45 acp oal

GNILOP
04-17-2011, 03:49 PM
:cbpour:

YEP I IS HOOKED ON CASTING & BLASTING!
I am kind of new to this game and got a 6 cavity 230 gr SWC mold for my 45 ACP and have not shot it yet but cannot find what the COL for that boolit is! No information shown on any of the loading manuals for 230 SWC! Has info on 200 gr but that's it!
I like the idea of making my own and shooting same. Weather is lousy in Ohio so I have mucho time to melt & belt.

gray wolf
04-17-2011, 04:05 PM
Sorry, I have never seen a 230 grain SW for a 45 ACP. if others say the same perhaps a little more info or a picture would help.

biker_trash_1340
04-17-2011, 04:09 PM
Hello,
This may help, not sure if this is the one you have. Not a lot of info on that one.... (look @ atakawow post in the link)

http://www.thehighroad.org/archive/index.php/t-522778.html

pics @

<<< http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa91/atakawow/IMG_0258.jpg >>>

<<< http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa91/atakawow/IMG_0259.jpg >>>

<<< http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa91/atakawow/IMG_0255.jpg >>>

RobS
04-17-2011, 06:07 PM
What brand/company is your mold that these 230 grain SWC's are coming from?

mpmarty
04-18-2011, 10:42 AM
pull the barrel out of your pistol and use the chamber as a way to measure the proper seating depth. Also, make sure the magazine will take them.

frkelly74
04-18-2011, 10:59 AM
Maybe it is the truncated cone boolit. If that is true you will probably need to seat the boolit so that the shoulder angle of the boolit is flush with the case mouth. I have had problems with the round chambering if the boolit is not seated in this manner. Also , only crimp the case enough to take out the bell and not to the extent of resizing the boolit down. It works well but can be trickey.

plainsman456
04-18-2011, 12:42 PM
+2 on pulling your barrel and using it as a gauge to seat your boolits.

Doby45
04-18-2011, 12:47 PM