PDA

View Full Version : Slugging Revolver and Bullet Sizing

wtfooptimax200
04-17-2011, 09:46 AM
Seeing as I am brand new to the world of bullet casting, I have tons of questions....here is another one:

I've done a good deal of reading on slugging and bullet sizing, of everything that I've read, I've come to the following conclusion:

I need to slug the throats AND the barrel to obtain the two critical dimension,s right?

Bullets should be sized ~0.001" larger than cylinder throats. Is this correct?

In a perfect world, the barrel groove diameter would then be ~0.001" smaller than my throats, so that the bullet will seal well in the barrel. If the barrel is not smaller than the throats, I will most likely need to lap the throats until they are larger than the barrel for optimum accuracy. Is this correct?

What is the maximum amount that can be lapped out of the throats before there is an issue?

If it helps, this information will be applied to a .480 Ruger.

Thanks for any help,
Branden

04-17-2011, 11:11 AM
Welcome.

"I need to slug the throats AND the barrel to obtain the two critical dimension,s right?"
Correct.

"Bullets should be sized ~0.001" larger than cylinder throats. Is this correct?"
Correct.

"In a perfect world, the barrel groove diameter would then be ~0.001" smaller than my throats, so that the bullet will seal well in the barrel. If the barrel is not smaller than the throats, I will most likely need to lap the throats until they are larger than the barrel for optimum accuracy. Is this correct?"
Correct.

mdi
04-17-2011, 11:35 AM
I would say the same or .001" smaller than throats. My Ruger has a pretty good match: .431" throats, .429" groove dia.