PDA

View Full Version : Confused about leading - Revisited

pat g
04-08-2011, 12:52 PM
Confused about leading

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am new to casting bullets so I have a lot to learn and this is the place that I have found the best location to learn.

Here is the question: I casted 44 mag bullets 200 gr. rnfp.
The bullet size was 431. A 429 sized bullet dropped right through the cylinder.
The bullets were tumble lubed with alox, and sat for 48 hours befor being loaded.

I tested the bullet at about 15 bhn. I loaded 7.8 gr. of Unique. ( Light Load ).
I started low because I am learning and would not like to make a mistake.

The bullets were fired from a Ruger Super Blackhawk.

After shooting about 30 rounds I cleaned the gun and there was very heavy leading. The lead came out in strips.

I believe there is a vast amount of knowledge on this site and Lord knows
I could use some help.

Thanks
Pat

The barrel is 428 and the cylinder is 430.

I took the advise of wiser sages and increased the Unique to 9 grs.
The leading was reduced to about a quarter of what it was.

I am now going to try the 45-45-10 lube and see what the outcme is.
If this does not work I will be forced to buy a luber sizer.
I have trying to avoid buying it because I have a small fortune already into this reloading.
Three (3) presses, dies, powder, measure and on and on.

Pat

BABore
04-08-2011, 01:15 PM
The groove diameter sounds small for a Ruger. How did you slug it? I'm assuming that you pounded one pure lead slug all the way through. Did you do a second slug just into the muzzle and then back out? Did you feel a tight spot when your slug passed under the bbl threads? Where does the leading start in the bbl?

I have a gut feeling that you have a bore constriction. While I'm not a fan of liquid lubes, I've never had them lead the bbl like that unless I did something really stupid.

04-08-2011, 01:35 PM