PDA

View Full Version : Having Fun!!!

texas tenring
12-06-2006, 01:29 AM
I'm a newbie to casting I've been intrested in it for a long time and finally ran across some used Lee molds I thought I could use, also a Lee 10# pot and a old Lyman 45 sizer luber. Just enough to finally get me started. I found this web site doing a search on lead casting and boy has it been a wealth of information. I've been reading post for a couple of months now and learned so much, enough to have a little success. I like to shoot military rifles in our club matches at 100yds., so I wanted a lead cast load that would compete. I started with my Mosin Nagant 91/30 Finn capture (original Russian barrel) strong rifleing but a little pitted. I cast a bunch of Lee 185-312 GC boolits straight WW AC and sized/lubed with the old 45 and a .312 die. When I ordered the sizing die I thought I had to get that size to lube that bullet but it actually sized my boolit slightly less than .312 and the groups were not great about 4" but the chrono indicated 18grs. of 2400 showed the most promise. I have four Mosin's but this one has the tightest bore, it slugs .312. Finally I tried shooting as cast and tumble lubed with Lee LA and results were excellent with several groups 1.5" and less at 100yds from the bench. The boolits droped a little over .312. Here is a photo of the first group after adjusitng sights for this load.
Also I made ingot molds using the angle iron method decribed by other members on this site and they work great!!!
Thanks!!! again to all the posters I'm learning every day on this site and man this is fun!!!!!!!!
Next the K-31, 8mm mauser, 6.5 mauser , 357mag and who knows?

Buckshot
12-06-2006, 02:43 AM
.............Excellent shooting! If that target was at 100 yards you don't have much of anything to complain about :-). I'm working with a couple M91/30's right now and am just getting groups like that at 50 yards.

..............Buckshot

carpetman
12-06-2006, 03:54 AM