PDA

View Full Version : mystery leading

ss40_70
03-25-2011, 09:20 PM
something happened today and im not sure what . it was decent out today so i broke out my 45-90 rolling block to blow out the cobwebs and shoot up a few cartridges left over from last fall first two shots i sent into the back stop to foul the barrel and gave it my usual wet patch then dry and settled in to get a group first 5 shot group was well over 6 inches at 100 but i shrugged it off as being out of practice next 5 shot group 2 shots hit the paper and 3 shots i have no idea where they went , i then wiped the bore again and found the leading . it starts about halfway down the barrel out to the muzzle . what the heck caused this ? this barrel has never leaded before and its the same load ive been using for over 2 years now .. same lot powder same batch of 20-1 alloy from roto metals same bullet mold same spg lube same fiber wad , matter of fact i did everything the same as usual , a couple fouling shots a quick wipe and blowtubing with 4 breaths between shots , humidity was about normal at 65% and the temp was about 45 except it being a bit cooler than usual conditions was right at the norm ... what the heck caused the leading , im open to all comments as ive never had a leading issue before im not sure where to start diagnosing the problem

Skipper
03-25-2011, 09:31 PM
cartridges left over from last fall

Do you think that maybe the lube "went south" during storage?

ss40_70
03-25-2011, 09:35 PM
im not going to discount that skipper but the spg lube feels and smells the same as when i origonaly lubed them

03-25-2011, 10:27 PM
If these carts have been loaded for a few months then either something has happened/changed with the loaded rounds or something has changed with the bore condition of the rifle. My first impression is the same as Skipper- lube? But, hard to say. It would be grasping at zephyrs to absolutely say one thing caused it.