PDA

View Full Version : Flintlock Question

smoked turkey
03-22-2011, 04:56 PM
I have several in-lines and caplocks. I enjoy shooting them all. I do like the sidelocks best. I have Thompson Center for the most part. I like the American made idea. I also believe the quality of the TC is very good. At the moment I think a .36 cal flintlock would be a very fun rifle to shoot.
I have no experience when it comes to quality or function when it comes to flinters. I understand the Lyman Plains rifle is a very quality muzzleloader. I also see TCs out there for sale.
I realize that there are differences of opinion on which flintlock to purchase when it comes to quality. I am wondering what experience flintlock shooters here on this board have had with the various brands out there. Of course I have to say that cost is a factor. I can't afford to jump into a custom build. So I guess I am wondering which mass produced rifle would be considered a good one? Sorry for the long post.

daddywpb
03-22-2011, 06:54 PM
I shoot a T/C Renegade flintlock. Very reliable, and LOTS of fun!!!!

DIRT Farmer
03-22-2011, 09:54 PM
If you are handy with tools check out Tip Curtis Fronteeir shop. He has some kits that are not much higher than a production gun. There are several styles and levals you can chose from.

Dean D.
03-23-2011, 08:52 AM
My .54 cal. Lyman GPR flinter is ok for an inexpensive gun. It is barrel heavy and I am not overly enthused with the lock. Otherwise I feel it was worth the money. It shoots accurately. I cannot comment on T/C as I've never owned one.

One thing I would recommend is checking out L & R Locks http://www.lr-rpl.com/ and see what guns they offer drop-in replacement locks for. If you later decide you want to upgrade the lock you would be able to do so for a reasonable price. The lock is the heart of your gun.

smoked turkey
03-23-2011, 09:53 AM