PDA

View Full Version : Semi-auto handgun for cast?

selmerfan
03-21-2011, 04:27 PM
I've been loading for 20 years, rifle, shotgun, and single-shot pistol (XP-100 and Encore). I'd like to purchase a semi-auto handgun for home defense purposes and for just fun shooting at the range. And I obviously want to run cast through it primarily, if not exclusively. What makes/models would ya'll recommend? I'll get the mold I need for the gun, I'm thinking either a 1911 .45 ACP of some sort or a Springfield XD in .45 ACP or .40 S&W. Thoughts? Opinions? Comments? Am I way off base here? Thanks!!!!!!!

cabezaverde
03-21-2011, 04:31 PM
I would look for a used 3rd generation S&W auto. 4506,4516, etc.

oscarflytyer
03-21-2011, 04:54 PM
My old Thompson Auto Ord GI 45 loves my cast load with 200 gr SWC H&G # 68 (Mihec mold). I bought it used and well broken in. All I have done is lightly polish the chamber and feed ramp, and put in a .005" over size bbl link (to improve bbl to slide fit) and a new std size bushing. The link and bushing were due to it being well used and broken in. Greatly improved the accuracy.

Carolina Cast Bullets
03-21-2011, 05:00 PM
IMHO the Taurus PT1911 is a tough one to beat. It has all the "bells and whistles" of a Kimber or Ed Brown or other high end 1911 but at anywhere from half to 2/3'rds the price depending on where you get it.

I have one in SS and it eats everything I feed it and is as accurate as one could expect of a carry gun. The only thing I did to mine was remove and replace the ambi safety cause, IMHO, its a solution to a problem that does not exist.

Jerry
Carolina Cast Bullets

376Steyr
03-21-2011, 05:18 PM
I'd say go with a 1911-type .45, if for no other reason than if it doesn't want to shoot properly, there is a huge amount of expertise and parts available to make it work to your expectations.

03-21-2011, 05:26 PM
Another vote for a 1911 clone. One-hundred years of uninterrupted production speaks volumes.

BulletFactory