PDA

View Full Version : NASA Lube from Dan at Bullshop....

RBak
03-18-2011, 07:06 PM
Received a pound of NASA Lube from Dan today and I was wondering how you guys use it.

With most patch lubes I just rub a little dab into the patch and set 'em aside....or, I will melt the lube, put a hundred or so patches in to soak then squeeze most of the good stuff out and set 'em aside.

However, since I didn't get instructions from Dan, and since I've never used this before, I was wondering how you guys use it, before I go wasting a bunch of it.

Russ

Nobade
03-18-2011, 09:49 PM
I never have tried it on patches, but if you melt it on a double boiler and pour it in your lubrisizer it works great on bullets!

03-18-2011, 10:47 PM
Actually, I think because it is called blackpowder lube doesn't mean its use is primarily for muzzleloaders. I would imagine most of it is used for blackpowder cartridge where either those bullets are pan lubed or lubed via a lubrisizer. Secondary use could be considered for muzzleloaders. I'd just smear it on the patch like any other thick BP lube. Same would apply to minie balls- just smear it on to fill the grooves.

03-20-2011, 11:09 AM
RBak,
After letting your question sink in a while I think I understand maybe what the question is. If the NASA is too stiff for your purpose you could take a small quantity and add some oil- vegetable or mineral. Experiment a little until you get the right mix for your application- patch or GG conical. If you are looking for a consistency something like bore butter then you will have to thin the NASA a little. I use something like NASA for my regular grease groove bullets- for both smokeless and BP cartridge- works equally well in both. But for my muzzleloader bullets both grease groove and minie I have to thin it a little with oil so it can be smeared on. You could PM Bullshop and ask him the best oil to add. I'm sure he knows which is most compatible with his NASA formula.

RBak
03-20-2011, 12:21 PM