PDA

View Full Version : 230 grain paper patched boolit in a 45-70!

iammarkjones
03-16-2011, 08:19 PM
Ok, I am just wondering if there is any possibility this would work. Take a 230 grain boolit intended for a 45ACP (.452 as cast i think) paper patch to .460ish seated over 4 or 5 grains of bullseye. Now I hear you thinki'n just buy a collar button mold but where would the fun be in that! :mrgreen:

montana_charlie
03-16-2011, 08:38 PM
Sounds workable to me as long as the rifling isn't too fast for the bullet.
But the best place to talk about it is the Smokeless Paper Patching forum section.

CM

iammarkjones
03-16-2011, 09:11 PM
But the best place to talk about it is the Smokeless Paper Patching forum section.

CM

Perhaps one of the mods would be kind enough to give this thread a boot into the correct section. As for the twist it is 1:20 RH which sounds slow, but I have no experience with PP cast. This started out as a brain fart but as I research more I am intrigued.......

wallacem
03-16-2011, 09:20 PM
Good timing, I have just started paper patching 45-70... I took some 255 gr .452 LC bullets, patched them to .460. Ran them in my NEF rifle in front of 10 grains of Unique. I shot them at 100 yds, grouped about 3". VERY LITTLE kick. I was impressed with them for a first time thing. Wallacem in Ga

Walter Laich
03-16-2011, 11:27 PM
I tried that very same thing, almost.

First, my .45-70 barrel slugs out at .454--it's an old rebarrel and I guess that's what the previous owner asked for.

Took some of my 250 gr .452 Lyman molded bullets, paper patched them and sent them down range with 5 grains of Red Dot. Did fine out to 50 yards.

The drop at 100 was about 3 feet but with Kentucky windage was still hitting the steel target.

303Guy
03-17-2011, 05:03 AM