PDA

View Full Version : newbie question

Dustinxxx
03-08-2011, 01:46 AM
Now im sure the wrinkle question has came to play more than its fair share here, but im a newbie at casting so please take it easy on me lol. I just started casting couple weeks ago. Its a great hobbie and very rewarding when everything goes right, but out of every batch i do i have about a 20 % success rate. All the rest are wrinkle. Know in the previous thread i read, everyone was talking about heat and how hot the bullet mold is. Ive tried both of those. Casting at cooler temps and hotter temps. Heating the mold for a good 10-15 min ( i dont have a torch unfortunatly, so i put it on top of the pot). Any more suggestions that could cause it? Thanks in advance for your input

swamp
03-08-2011, 02:12 AM
The first thing is to make sure the mould is clean. Tooth brush and very hot soapy water to scrub the mould and remove all grease and oil. Any residue will make wrinkles.

Casting temp will depend on alloy and mould. Every mould is a little different .

More info on what you are using will help in answering your questions.

swamp

Dustinxxx
03-08-2011, 02:30 AM
Im using a 2 cavity .452 swc and a 6 cavity .356. using wheel weights for lead.

swamp
03-08-2011, 02:39 AM
Dustin,
Have you cleaned them.

The six cavity will need to run the alloy hotter to keep the mould up to temp. Also as you get more experience your rythum wil get faster so the moulds will not lose heat.

swamp

Dustinxxx
03-08-2011, 02:42 AM
I havent. ill attempt that tomarrow. Right now im trying to takle my progressive loader problem lol.. But thanks swamp. Ill clean them tomarrow.

swamp
03-08-2011, 02:52 AM
Dustin,
You can use a degreaser first, but a real good scrubbing with a tooth brush,dish soap(Dawn is a good grease cutter), and HOT water will do it. Sometimes it takes a couple of scrubs.

Try that and see how they cast. The good thing about this addiction is that you can just remalt your mistakes. Practice is good.

swamp