PDA

View Full Version : Hornady vs. old Lyman gas checks?

cabezaverde
03-07-2011, 04:43 PM
I have a load I developed in 357 Mag using the Hornady crimp on checks. I also have a couple if boxes of the Lyman old style non crimp on checks that I would like to use up.

What kind of performance and accuracy difference might I see using the old style checks? Is a gas check a gas check?

I posted this on the gas check forum, but no responses.

NHlever
03-07-2011, 04:48 PM
The older Lyman gas checks are slip on rather than crimp style as you probably know. Accuracy with them comes down to fit usually. If they fit snugly they shoot pretty well, but usually some stay on, and some fall off in flight, and that does nothing for accuracy.

Bret4207
03-08-2011, 08:03 AM
I have been using both types interchangeably for 20 years at least. I have yet to see a difference. I'm not saying it can't happen, but I haven't seen it yet. I prefer they stay on in flight but I've recovered boolits used with both types with missing GC's. YMMV.

HangFireW8
03-08-2011, 10:30 AM
I have a thousand box of old-style, 1950's era Lyman .30 gas checks. Despite tight crimping, they regularly come off of bullets at 50 yards. I often get 7 hole targets from 5 shots.

I have the new Hornady .30 as well, I have yet to see an extra hole. Accuracy is better as well.

I've heard the new Lyman gas checks crimp on the same as the Hornady. I don't know, they always cost more, so I've yet to use any.

Larry Gibson
03-08-2011, 01:19 PM