PDA

View Full Version : Scrounging Lead Questions

Punisher422
02-22-2011, 10:15 PM
I am new to casting and have successfully cast a couple of hundred 12 gauge slugs. I have a source for wheel-weights but can only get them by about 10-15 pounds a week until they run out eventually. I thought every one on this forum was over-reacting about not being able to find lead but I have since been educated and went into a general state of panic about what I'm going to do when my source runs out.

So I went to the local range and was able to pick up about a gallon of bullets laying on the berm. I took them home and cleaned them and came up with a lot of questions in the process.

Which berm at the range is the most productive one in your experience to search for bullets? 25, 50, or 100? I got most of my lead from the 50 yard berm but I also spent the most time there.

What is the best way to clean the bullets? I cleaned them by hand in a bucket at home but it was slow and tedious work.

Also, when you go to melt down the bullets how do you crack the jacket on full metal jackets that completely enclose the lead?

All suggestions are greatly appreciated. I'm trying to learn as much as possible and really appreciate more experienced people helping me out.

*Paladin*
02-22-2011, 10:39 PM
I shoot on public land, but having been a rangemaster at a few USAF ranges, I can tell you the closer berm will have the greatest concentration of bullets in a small area, because the groups are going to be tighter and impacting in one area, rather than being spread over a bigger area as the ranges get further.

For cleaning, I put the bullets on my sifter screen, hose it and shake and rinse again, then let it dry. As far as the TMJ bullets, I use a hammer and small chisel to cut a hole in the jacket for the lead to run out.

Tom Herman
02-22-2011, 10:53 PM
Congrats on starting down the road to boolit success!