PDA

View Full Version : Whats a tumble lube boolit

Dframe
02-21-2011, 01:36 PM
OK. I've watched the videos and easily understand the concept of tumble lubing. But I constantly see references to a TL boolit. What exactly is different about a TL boolit? Can't a regular boolit be lubed in this fashion? Is there some boolit profile that is more ammendable to tumble lubing?

HATCH
02-21-2011, 02:03 PM
I am not an expert on this matter, but most tumble lube boolits have multiple small lube grooves compared to one or two large lube grooves.

Example
Tumble lube (thanks Carolina Cast Bullets for the pic)
http://www.carolinacastbullets.com/images/15962807_wnpk.png

Same design in a standard boolit (thanks www.friendswoodbullet.com for the pic)
http://images.shoppit.co.uk/sizeimage.aspx?client=13642&image=45230RN.jpg&height=220&width=200&colour=FFFFFF&offer=0

onondaga
02-21-2011, 04:20 PM
Bullets with conventional deep pressure lube grooves can certainly be tumble lubed also. I only tumble lube cast bullets and I use many designs, TL and deep groove.

Lee Liquid Alox is suitable alone for the tumble method but I have switched to a formula from a member here that dries very fast, about 20 minutes, and is non sticky, it is called 45:45:10 and made with those percentages of Lee Liquid Alox: Johnson's Paste Wax: Mineral spirits.

I heat the Heat the Johnson's on low heat in a pan to melt, then add LLA and stir thoroughly. Remove from heat and add the Spirits. Cool completely and re-bottle.

gary

mpmarty
02-21-2011, 07:41 PM
Gary I tried that and the "cool completely" made it impossible to get it back in the bottle.

Doby45
02-21-2011, 07:43 PM
It still needs to be hot to bottle, but not melt the plastic hot. :)

onondaga
02-21-2011, 09:05 PM