PDA

View Full Version : Book question

Alaskan100
02-17-2011, 04:40 PM
Hello All,
Well its finally starting warming up here in Alaska. Spring time is only a couple months away. Time to get casting equipment and some lead. I am a newbie at casting boolits. I have a pot, ladel,flux (working on the mold) and even a set up to smelt larger ingots into usable size. In other words, I have just enough of the equipment to hurt myself real badly. What book (that is still in print) would you folks recommend to someone who is just starting out casting boolits? Please be advised that reloading may come at a later date. For now just casting sabot boolits for my muzzleloader.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Alaskan100

MtGun44
02-17-2011, 04:52 PM
Latest Lyman book is mostly written by Mike Venturino. He is pretty knowledgable on
the topic, it should provide good basic info. I find his recommendation of linotype for
semiauto pistol boolits completely unnecessary, but apparently he has tons of the expensive
alloy laying around and is liberal with it. I have about 200 lbs of lino and reserve it for
special occasions, finding ordinary air cooled wheel wt alloy fine for all my semiauto needs.

What guns and calibers are you planning to start with? I hope you have a .38 Spl or
.45 ACP in mind, since these are about the most forgiving calibers to start with and are
easiest to have early success with. Avoid 9mm Luger as a first try, it is a bit of a booger
to get going for many, although I have had good success without anything particularly
heroic, many have had a lot of tribulations with the caliber, so it is best to avoid as a
starting point.

Bill

stubert
02-17-2011, 05:37 PM
I like the 3'rd edition Lyman alot better, although the #4 has other peoples molds listed. The info is better (in my opinion) in the #3. Oh heck, Get both!

Alaskan100
02-17-2011, 07:23 PM
Thanks MtGun44,