PDA

View Full Version : 9mm Luger and .357 molds

libertyman777
01-18-2011, 01:13 AM
Hey,

I get together with some shooting friends and we pool our money with ordering powder, primers and various other supplies to save on Hazmat, shipping, etc.

An order has been put in and I would like to pick up two molds, one for 9mm Luger and the other for .357 Mag. I'm new to casting and realize that neither will probably be the end all mold but I also don't want to reinvent the wheel either.

So what's a couple of good mold profiles to start with. I really like Lee reloading equipment, cost vs value. Also, will I need to size these projectiles?

Thanks,

Paul

nvbirdman
01-18-2011, 01:35 AM
Since you are new to boolit making I would recommend the Tumble Lube molds from Lee. You should not have to size them, but when you send in your order be sure to order one 4oz bottle of Lee Liquid Alox too. As far as the weight and shape, it shouldn't matter too much untill you get really involved in casting, and by then you won't mind spending the money for a few more moulds. If you don't want the tumble lube moulds, the Lee sizing kits work very well with standard moulds and come with a bottle of liquid alox included.

Az Rick
01-18-2011, 01:57 AM
Paul, My vote for a .357 mould would be a 158gr. semi wadcutter, for the 9mm a 125gr. truncated cone for reliable feeding. As far as sizing goes you wouldn't have to at first but will probably want to later. You could probably improve accuracy some. It gets into other issues, chamber throats, bore diameter and other things. Not all moulds, same maker same mould number will throw the same diameter bullet. Not all alloys make the same size bullet. It's better to have a mould that throws larger diameter bullets because they can be sized down easily.
Short answer, get some moulds, cast some and shoot'em. All that other stuff will fall into place later.

Best,Rick

cbunt1
01-18-2011, 02:05 AM